Access to both individual and project shares may be granted to any NC State user. The process is the same for individual and project shares:
Find the share and click the green Add Users button
Click the red trashcan icon to revoke access to a user. Access will be removed within approximately 1 minute. You should see the row containing the user’s name disappear. This indicates access has been revoked.
Access may not be revoked if the trashcan icon is faded. There are a few reasons why access may not be revoked for a user:
If you don’t see any trashcan icons it means you don’t have access to manage user access for the share. You must be the owner of the share, an investigator for the corresponding project in RED, or a designated departmental admin in order to manage user access.
Other users who have been granted access with have the same file level access as the share owner. They will receive full read/write access to the top-level share directory, and in most circumstances, full read/write access to all files and subdirectories.
No. Only the share owner, a project investigator, or a designated departmental administrator may configure access for other users.
All users who are listed as investigators in RED for a project associated with a share are considered share owners. Each investigator will have access to the share without exception. In order to revoke access for an investigator, that person must first be removed as an investigator in RED.
RED is checked nightly for changes to projects. If an additional investigator is added to a project in RED, access to the corresponding share will automatically be granted within 1 day. If an investigator is removed from a project in RED, access is not automatically revoked from the corresponding project share. However, the share owner or any of the other investigators will have the option of revoking access via the portal within 1 day of removal from the project in RED.